LED Control PCB

Some more notes on lighting effects for my project:

I have finally found a decent PCB for consolidating the hundreds of wires that would be needed to hook up and control 16 RGB LED’s. That’s 16 bulbs each with 3 individual colors to control (red, green, and blue). That makes 48 different channels. This handy little PCB makes it all a little cleaner and simpler. These boards can even be cascaded to hook up even more LED’s!

Its called the LED Painter by Brilldea. I had thought about designing my own PCB to accomplish this, however for a first prototype, I thought I would purchase some pre-made products, then improve them later myself. It was very reasonably priced (only $15 for the PCB). However, you will have to purchase the electronics parts yourself as well. I purchased all of my parts for this on eBay for cheap. At a minimum you will need:

  • 3 – TLC5940 Integrated circuits (For controlling the LED’s, the Arduino connects to these)
  • 3 – 28 pin DIP sockets for the 5940’s
  • 3 – 270 (ish) ohm SMD 1206 resistors (basically sets the current for your LED’s)
  • Lots of 0.1″ headers for connecting the LED wires to the board as well as the Arduino.
  • 1 – 2 way terminal block for connecting power.

Here is the link to the product on their website: http://www.brilldea.com/product_LEDPainter.html

Youtube video showing LED’s being tested with this board:

I will be starting a parts list page soon so you can reference anything that I talk about in these posts.

Happy Wednesday!

This entry was posted in LED and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

